Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest’ Category

Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest

I received some fantastic news today. I’m the Grand Prize winner in the 2013 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest. 

I am deeply honored. Baen Books publishes many of my favorite authors, folks whose books I pre-order the instant I learn of them, knowing they will be a great read.

One entire bookshelf in my library is stuffed with hardcovers by David Weber, and David Drake, and Lois McMaster Bujold, and John Ringo, and Eric Flint, and Elizabeth Moon, and Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, and Wen Spencer, and more. I can’t tell you how many other brilliant Baen books I have on my e-reader. Suffice it to say I’m a Baen fan and have been since my wife handed me David Weber’s On Basilisk Station and said, “You have to read this.”

It was a no-brainer for me to enter the contest. I owe Jim Baen, and Baen Books, and all of these great writers Baen publishes for countless hours of heart pounding, fist pumping enjoyment. Baen Books publishes the sort of stories I love to read. I had a great time writing this story, and I hope that when you get a chance to read it you’ll like it too.

I’ll follow up later with full details when I know more.

Thanks again to the folks at Baen Books, and the National Space Society, and all the dedicated people who make the contest possible.

Special thanks to R.P.L. Johnson, the 2012 winner, and the Writers of the Future Volume 27 Grand Prize Winner, whose brilliant story inspired me to enter.

If you wish to learn more about the contest look here:

To learn more about the National Space Society and why you should join today look here:

And of course, you can learn the latest news about Baen Books here: